The offense of DUI in Florida involves operating a motor vehicle while either noticeably impaired from the effects of alcohol or possessing a blood-alcohol content of .08 or more. Courts in the state take these offenses seriously, and a variety of possible consequences await individuals suspected of driving under the influence.
A first DUI offense in Florida will result in a fine of not less than $500 and not more than $2000. The range for the fine increases from $2000 to $4000 when the driver’s blood alcohol content is .15 or more. A first time convicted drunk driver must also serve 50 hours of community service or pay an additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service ordered by the court.
The combined jail and probation term for a first-time DUI conviction can equal no more than one calendar year. The incarceration can take place in either a jail or treatment facility and is limited to six months or less. The minimum incarceration period becomes nine months when the blood alcohol content is .15 or more. The increased minimum incarceration period also applies to impaired drivers who have minors in the car with them.
Additionally, individuals convicted of driving under the influence may also lose the right to drive for some time. First-time offenders may find it possible to reinstate their license a little sooner than the length of the revocation if they complete treatment and DUI school.
Subsequent DUI convictions result in harsher punishments.
Driving a car while under the influence of alcohol can result in tragic consequences. The court system has addressed this danger by dealing harshly with people convicted of DUI offenses. Individuals facing allegation regarding driving under the influence of alcohol may minimize their exposure to damage by consulting with a criminal defense attorney.